About me & this blog

I am Patrizia and I would like to report about my semester abroad in Hungary in this blog. First of all about me: I am a student at the University of Applied Sciences in Emden/Leer and am studying International Business Systems (IBS) in my seventh semester. My hobbies include sports (fitness, jogging, bouldering, …), drawing, both on paper and on a drawing tablet, reading, writing and photography. I am always up for a good time and I like to spend time with my friends.
The examination regulations of my studies provide a semester abroad. Shortly after the start of my studies, I and my fellow students asked ourselves the question: “Where to we want to go during our semester abroad, or rather, where do I want to go?” After a few lectures, discussions and even longer consideration, four possible destinations were finally determined – the Netherlands, Finland, Hungary and Spain. However, after hearing from fellow students that they could not take their chosen courses in Spain and therefore had to attend Spanish courses, I decided against this country. So three more remained. I went to the International Office for advice and finally applied for the three countries mentioned above.
My first wish was to go to the University of Pécs in Hungary. Those who know me will now think “That was soooo obvious” and those who do not know me will now ask “Why Hungary”? My mother was born Hungarian and my grandparents both still live there, but separately. Pécs is a few kilometres away from both of them, so I will live in the same country, but not with either of them. I speak Hungarian and it is important for me to continue to learn this language and to get to know this beautiful country in a different way than on holiday or visiting grandma and grandpa. When I finally got the acceptance, I started to look forward to my semester abroad. I am not only very excited about studying there, but also about meeting new people from different countries and cultures and also studying in a bigger city.
I will be the first student of the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Applied Sciences Emden/Leer to study at the University of Pécs. This is because it is only possible to study in the Faculty of Economics in Pécs and the IBS course catalogue also largely includes economics. I have chosen the following English courses: Probability and Statistics, Business Consulting, Human Resource Management, Operations Management and Leadership and International Management. In addition, I will attend a course which is designed to support foreign students in their studies and to give them helpful clues. Be it linguistically, about how to live there or where to go shopping.
The preparations are in full swing and I can hardly wait to write my last exam and get going! Officially, the semester starts on 03.02 and ends on 30.06.20, but I will start the journey already on the weekend of 25.01.20 to have a few days on site to get used to the place.
See you soon!
Your Patrizia

And for those of you who are interested, here are a few more key facts about the city in which I will be spending the next five months:
Pécs was founded by the Romans in the 2nd century. Untill today, some old buildings of that time can be visited. 148.000 people live approximately in Pécs, of which approximately 30.000 are enrolled in the 10 faculties of the university. In a direct comparison: Emden has about 50,000 inhabitants and a total of 4,632 students are studying at the university in Emden and Leer, which is about six times less than in Pécs. The fifth largest Hungarian city is located in the southwest of Hungary, near the Croatian border, although Serbia and Bosnia are not far away. The official language is Hungarian, although languages such as Italian, Serbian, Croatian and German may also be represented.

Wikipedia. (8. Januar 2020). Pécs. Von https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/P%C3%A9cs called

Über mich & diesen Blog

Herzlich Willkommen auf meinem Blog! Schön, dass du vorbeischaust.

Ich bin Patrizia und möchte in diesem Blog von meinem Auslandssemester in Ungarn berichten. Erst einmal zu mir: Ich bin Studentin der Hochschule Emden/Leer und studiere internationales Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen (kurz: IBS) im siebten Semester. Zu meinen Hobbies gehören unter anderem Sport (Fitness, Joggen, Bouldern, …), Zeichnen, sowohl auf dem Papier als auch auf dem Zeichentablett, Lesen, Schreiben und Fotografieren. Ich bin immer für einen Spaß zu haben und verbringe am liebsten Zeit mit meinen Freunden.

Die Prüfungsordnung meines Studienganges sieht ein Auslandssemester vor. Kurz nach dem Beginn meines Studiums haben ich und meine Kommilitonen uns die Frage gestellt: „Wo wollen wir in unserem Auslandssemester hin, bzw. wo will ich hin?“. Nach einigen Vorträgen, Diskussionen und nach noch längerem Überlegen standen dann endlich vier mögliche Ziele fest- die Niederlande, Finnland, Ungarn und Spanien. Nachdem ich allerdings von Kommilitonen gehört hatte, dass diese ihre gewählten Kurse in Spanien nicht belegen konnten und deshalb spanische Kurse besuchen mussten, entschied ich mich gegen das Land. Also blieben noch drei weitere. Ich ließ mich im International Office beraten und bewarb mich schlussendlich für oben genannten drei Länder.

Als Erstwunsch gab ich die Universität in Pécs in Ungarn an. Diejenigen, die mich kennen, werden jetzt denken „Das war ja klar“ und diejenigen, die mich nicht kennen, werden sich jetzt fragen, „Warum Ungarn“? Meine Mutter ist geborene Ungarin und meine Großeltern wohnen beide noch dort, allerdings getrennt voneinander. Pécs liegt einige Kilometer von beiden entfernt, sodass ich im selben Land leben werde, aber nicht bei einen von ihnen. Ich spreche ungarisch und für mich ist es wichtig, diese Sprache weiter zu vertiefen und dieses schöne Land auf eine andere Art und Weise kennen zu lernen als im Urlaub oder auf Besuch bei Oma und Opa. Als ich dann endlich die feste Zusage bekam, fing ich an mich riesig auf mein Auslandssemester zu freuen. Ich bin nicht nur sehr gespannt auf das Studieren vor Ort, sondern auch auf das Kennenlernen neuer Leute aus verschiedenen Ländern und Kulturen und darauf in einer größeren Stadt zu studieren.

Ich werde die erste Studentin des Fachbereichs Technik der Hochschule Emden/Leer sein, die an der Universität in Pécs studiert. Dies liegt daran, dass nur im Fachbereich Wirtschaft in Pécs studiert werden kann und der Studiengang IBS zu einem großen Teil auch aus Wirtschaft besteht. Folgende englische Kurse habe ich gewählt: Business Consulting, Human Resource Management, Operations Management und Leadership and International Management. Darüber hinaus werde ich einen Ungarisch Kurs belegen, was vor allem mir persönlich sehr wichtig ist.

Die Vorbereitungen laufen auf Hochtouren und ich kann es kaum noch abwarten, meine letzte Prüfung zu schreiben und loszufahren! Offiziell startet das Semester am 03.02 und endet am 30.06.20, allerdings werde ich die Reise schon am Wochenende vom 25.01.20 antreten, um vor Ort ein paar Tage Zeit zu haben, um mich einzugewöhnen.

Bis bald!

Eure Patrizia

Und für die, die es interessiert noch ein paar Eckdaten zu der Stadt, in welcher ich die kommenden fünf Monate verbringen werde:

Pécs wurde im 2. Jahrhundert von den Römern gegründet. Noch heute können alte Gebäude aus dieser Zeit besichtigt werden. 148.000 Menschen leben ca. in Pécs, davon sind ungefähr 30.000 an den 10 Fakultäten der Universität eingeschrieben. Im direkten Vergleich: Emden hat um die 50.000 Einwohner und an der Hochschule studieren an den Standorten Emden und Leer insgesamt 4.632 Studenten, das sind etwa sechsmal weniger so viele, wie in Pécs. Die fünftgrößte ungarische Stadt liegt im Südwesten von Ungarn, nahe der kroatischen Grenze, allerdings sind auch Serbien und Bosnien nicht weit. Die Amtssprache ist ungarisch, wobei Sprachen wie italienisch, serbisch, kroatisch und deutsch auch vertreten sein können.

Wikipedia. (8. Januar 2020). Pécs. Von https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/P%C3%A9cs abgerufen